Happy Hour: Cinco de Mayo

¡Cinco feliz de Mayonesa! or Happy Cinco de Mayo!

A happy hour is in order to honor the day.  Last week I shared with you my recipe for carne seca (along with some interesting history behind the celebration) and today I have the perfect cocktail and appetizer to enjoy before dinner.  Beer margaritas and homemade guacamole are on the menu.   We have made these margaritas for over 20 years (hard to believe it’s been that long!) and first starting making them at our infamous Halloween parties.  Unfortunately, we can’t remember where the recipe came from (no, it’s not because we’re old and forgetful…..I wasn’t obsessing as much about food back then) and fondly call them the Schenker Margaritas.  I know it sounds weird to have beer in margaritas but it gives them a unique and tasty flavor, and it makes them quite memorable.  It also has the normal ingredients: limeade and tequila, which balances out the beer flavor.  The recipe is super easy to make so start chilling your glasses.

As for the guacamole, fresh ingredients are the way to go in my opinion.  I add onions, cherry tomatoes, jalapeno, cilantro, cumin, chipotle pepper powder (dried jalapenos) and salt and pepper.  I love chipotle pepper powder because it has a wonderful earthy flavor that adds a little zing in the background.  I forgot to add tortillas chips to my store list so I just cut some fresh corn tortillas into wedges and baked them in a 400F degree oven for about 8 minutes until crispy. 

Cheers!  If you haven’t already, be sure to check out my earlier post which gives you some historical significance about Cinco de Mayo and a delicious slow-cooked recipe for one of my favorite Mexican meals: Carne Seca.

Eat well and share the love!

Schenker Margaritas
Recipe: David Schenker/Foodie for Two
Makes a half pitcher for two foodies

Ingredients:
6 ounces limeade (half of can)
6 ounces light beer (half of bottle)
4 ounces tequila (1/2 cup)
1 ¼ cups crushed ice
Lime wedges for garnish

Directions:
Add all ingredients to blender, cover the top with a towel to catch any spills, and puree until smooth.  Serve in chilled glasses with a lime wedge.

  • No crushed ice on hand?  Place ice cubes in a large Ziploc bag and smash with a rolling pin or mallet

 Guacamole
Recipe: Melissa Schenker/Foodie for Two
Serves two foodies

Ingredients:
2 ripe avocados
3 tablespoons diced white onion
3 tablespoons diced tomato
1 teaspoon diced jalapeno
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
2 tablespoons chopped cilantro
1/8 teaspoon cumin
Pinch of chipotle pepper powder
¼ teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper

Directions:
Slice avocados in half and remove seed.  Add avocado to a bowl and mash slightly with a fork and add the rest of the ingredients.  Mix well and serve with tortilla chips.

  • If you don’t have any tortilla chips: Heat oven to 400F degrees.  Cut 6 to 7 corn tortillas into 8 wedges, spread out on an ungreased sheet pan and sprinkle with salt.  Bake in oven for 8 to 10 minutes until golden and crispy.  Turn tortillas wedges over halfway through cooking time.  Let cool and serve with guacamole.
  • Tip for easily getting avocado out from skin: after halving, simply squeeze skin in half with fingertips to remove the avocado.
6 responses to “Happy Hour: Cinco de Mayo

  1. I snapped up these two recipes to add to my favorites folder. I’m looking forward to making the Margaritas. Those brothers of mine never shared the recipe with me! Well, if the truth be told I never asked – I guess I was just a freeloader – handing them my glass to fill. Now with both out of town, I’ll have to fend for myself. thanks for sharing:*)

    • Aw, it’s not that spicy. The richness of the avocados cut the heat. For those sensitive to jalapeno, I recommend using half a teaspoon or leaving out altogether.

  2. Carol Merlot

    How I remember those Halloween parties! I forgot how good the margaritas were. A great Cinco De Mayo menu.

  3. I never thought about beer in margaritas – sounds great!

Leave a Reply

