Mom’s Whoopie Pies are the Best!

I don’t think I have ever told you that I have an incredible sweet tooth and chocolate is my favorite.  I’ve talked about how olives and fried foods make my world go around but I don’t recall ever saying out loud with a smile that I LOVE SWEETS.  Interestingly, many of my blog posts have featured desserts; so far, 21% have covered this lovely topic.  We grew up with desserts after dinner and I always looked forward to whatever was waiting on the counter, especially a whoopie pie – it wasn’t that often, which made them even more special.  These little delights are an old (from when I was growing up old) recipe from our Mom. They’re made from two moist and rich dark chocolate cake-like cookies that are layered between a sweet and fluffy buttercream filling.  It’s all homemade and tastes like pure comfort, individual cakes that you can’t help but savor. 

The cookie dough worked perfectly at my altitude and cooked in 10 minutes.  The cookies are full of deep chocolate flavor thanks to black onyx cocoa.  Also, using a good Dutch cocoa along with it really pays off in taste factor.  The recipe makes a few more cookies than what is needed for the pies, but who doesn’t love chocolate cake cookies with their morning coffee or tea?   I found that the cookies had fluffier interiors and held their lift if the batter sat for 15 to 20 minutes before scooping.  And my 1 ½ tablespoon cookie scoop (OXO #40) was perfect for consistent size cookies, plus made it easy to release the batter onto the sheet pan.

When I got this recipe from my sister she included a note that read in part…as written by a teen copied from Mom’s recipe cards.  I worked my magic, reconfigured the format and cut the recipe in half.  The recipe test was a huge success and the cookies were just like I remembered. Nice.  The whoopie pies are simple to assemble – two cookies are turned over, one cookie gets a dollop of dreamy filling and it’s topped with the other cookie.  Wow, these whoopie pies are special treats that will warm anyone’s heart.  Just to make sure, I ate (inhaled) several of them and can confirm that statement!  Long live dessert, and chocolate.

Eat well and share the love!

Whoopie Pies
Melissa Schenker/Foodie for Two      
Serves two foodies: makes about 6 to 7 pies, 16 chocolate cookies

Ingredients:
Cookies
1 cup flour
2 tablespoons Dutch cocoa
1 tablespoon black onyx cocoa
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
2 egg yolks
½ cup granulated sugar
¼ cup shortening
½ teaspoon vanilla
½ cup milk

Icing (enough for 6 to 7 pies)
1 egg white
1 cup powdered sugar, sifted
½ teaspoon vanilla
1/8 teaspoon kosher salt
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, slightly melted and cooled

Directions:
Dry Ingredients:
Sift the flour, cocoa powders, baking soda and baking powder into a medium bowl or glass measuring cup and add the salt.  Mix together with a fork.  If you don’t have a sifter, just use a wire whisk and whisk all ingredients together until well incorporated and no lumps remain.  Set aside.

Batter:
Heat oven to 375 degrees F and line a sheet pan with parchment paper or silpat. 
Add egg yolks to a large glass bowl and mix with a hand-mixer on low setting until yolks are fluffy and light yellow, about 2 minutes.  Add in sugar, shortening and vanilla and mix on low until well blended.  Turn mixer off and add in the flour mixture and milk.  Blend on low until just mixed; if needed at the end, scrape down sides with a rubber spatula and gently fold batter together.  Let batter sit for 15 to 20 minutes (helps cookies have fluffier interior and hold their lift).

Using a 1 ½ tablespoon cookie scoop (OXO #40), add 8 scoops of batter to the sheet pan (evenly spaced, at least 2 inches apart) and cook for 10 minutes. Transfer cookies to a rack to cool and repeat with remaining batter. Save the lined sheet pan to assemble the cookies later.

Icing:
Add egg white to a medium glass bowl and whisk vigorously with a wire whisk until it doubles in volume and becomes white, about 1 minute or so (your arm gets a work out here but it helps make the frosting fluffy).  Add the sifted powdered sugar, vanilla, salt and butter and lightly whisk together until smooth and silky.

Assembly:
Gather 12 to 14 cookies on the sheet pan.  Turn over 2 cookies and add 1 ½ tablespoons filling to 1 cookie. Top with the other cookie, bottom side down.  Place on a platter and repeat with the remaining cookies.  Cover and refrigerate until ready to eat, as well as any leftovers.  Whoopie Pies will keep refrigerated for up to two days.

4 responses to “Mom’s Whoopie Pies are the Best!

  1. Cheryl/My Love Affair with the Vine

    The recipe I sent over WAS pretty lame, so I thought it necessary to include my disclaimer. It made me laugh that you included it. I have to say, you worked your recipe magic! I’m glad you cut it down to fewer cookies because now I won’t try to eat the whole batch and then wonder why my pants are too tight the next week. One of my fondest childhood memories is Mom making dessert every night. Thanks for sharing your chocolate love!

  2. YUM!! I’m definitely going to try these!

Leave a Reply

