New Year’s Day Breakfast: Individual Yummy Eggs

I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday celebration with lots of joy and good food.  New Year’s Eve is just a few days away and it’s hard to think about more planning after Christmas and Hanukkah.  My vote is for a feel-good Sunday breakfast that is easy to prepare.  We have a family recipe called Yummy Eggs that is deliciously dense with eggs and cheese and always a favorite on weekend mornings.  I have modified the ingredients a bit and use a muffin pan (instead of a casserole dish) to ensure even cooking, with less oven time.  The individual Yummy Eggs are perfect for New Year’s Day breakfast because they’re simple to make (the oven does the work for you) and packed with rich, savory flavors. Along with the eggs, these little treasures are flavored with onions, green chiles, sharp cheddar cheese, fontina cheese, cottage cheese, butter and jalapeño.  And they’re finished off with some chopped chives, sea salt and fresh-cracked pepper. 

To dress up our breakfast plates, I added some fruit skewers tossed with honey and chopped basil (or mint).  We received some pears for the holidays so I used one along with some watermelon cubes.  The pears were too fragile to skewer so next time I will use pineapple chunks or strawberries.  The Yummy Egg casseroles are just as good the next day and reheat well in the microwave (low heat) or toaster oven.  And for a special lunch, add a spinach salad dressed with some balsamic or Italian vinaigrette.

Best wishes for a prosperous and peaceful New Year in 2012.  This has been a wonderful year with much to be thankful for, especially lots of delicious food and readers of my blog posts!   Thank you – I sincerely appreciate your interest, support and encouragement.  For those who like stats, this is my 49th post of the year, and year-to-date Foodie for Two has had over 7,300 views since I started posting in March of 2011. Wow!  Here’s to many more engaging conversations about food next year!  Cheers!

Eat well and share the love!

Individual Yummy Eggs
Recipe: Melissa Schenker/Foodie for Two
Serves two foodies plus leftovers, makes 6 individual casseroles

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon soft butter, for greasing muffins tins
5 large eggs
1 ¼ cup (combined) grated sharp cheddar and Fontina cheese
1 cup cottage cheese
One 4 oz. can of chopped green chiles
¼ cup finely diced onion (yellow or red)
1 tablespoon chopped Italian Parsley (flat leaf)
1 tablespoon diced jalapeño
2 tablespoons melted butter
¼ cup flour
½ teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon kosher salt
1/8 teaspoon fresh-cracked pepper
Garnish
Chopped Chives
Sea Salt
Fresh Cracked Pepper

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375° F and well-grease a 6-muffin pan with butter.

In a medium glass bowl, add the eggs and beat with a wire whisk until eggs are mixed well (about 30 seconds).  Add 1 cup of the grated cheese (reserve 1/4 cup for topping), the cottage cheese, green chiles, onion, parsley, jalapeno, melted butter, flour, baking powder, salt and pepper and stir well to incorporate all the ingredients together.

Add ½ cup of mixture to each muffin tin and top with reserved grated cheese.  Place pan on center rack of oven and cook for 18 to 20 minutes until casseroles are golden brown on top and firm to the touch.

Let rest on the stove top or cooling rack for 2 minutes.  Remove casseroles by running a butter knife around edges and gently lifting out.  Garnish with chopped chives, sea salt and fresh cracked pepper.

We had fun at home last weekend and didn’t have to hassle with any Holiday traffic; with over a foot of snow still on the ground, we cut some sled trails on our property and laughed it up! 

9 responses to “New Year’s Day Breakfast: Individual Yummy Eggs

  1. Love the individual muffin tin portions & the photos of you and David are fabulous! Happy New Year!

  2. Yeah I want to know where David’s jacket is. 🙂 This sounds really good and I’m sure I will try them. Tell David Tim got me an Angry Birds cookbook that is all egg recipes. I’ve tried one and now I will add yours to the collection of egg recipes.

  3. What a great idea with the muffin cups! Will have to try it. Looks like you all had a great time in the snow. Where’s Davids jacket?

    • Glad Mom approves! 🙂 I think you’ll find it easier to cook the eggs. David was in the process of building the sled trail, and shoveling after each run so he was plenty warm. As for me, I was sitting on the bench with my hot chocolate!

  4. Cheryl Hogate Johns

    Yum – this sounds amazing with the addition of the jalapeno and I love the idea of using muffin tins rather than a casserole dish! I really enjoy fruit with my eggs but never know how to serve it. Next time I’ll try the fruit skewers. Great pics of you guys sledding – I can’t believe all the snow in your back yard!

    • I was quite pleased with how they turned out in the muffin tins. I think you and Mom will approve of my recipe modifications; the jalapeños add a nice kick and help balance the richness. As far as the snow, it will be a while before we can wear our flip flops again!

  5. Melissa shared this recipe with me a few years ago and I serve it whenever I have a brunch. It’s always a HUGE hit!!

Leave a Reply

