Treat Yourself: Drink Lots of Water

I have been depriving myself for no good reason, that’s what I realized the other day.  Adding fruit to my water is something that’s usually reserved for summertime and I am declaring it should be a winter ritual as well.  It may seem ordinary to talk about drinking some water, but why not make it fun since we need 8 glasses for the recommended daily amount?   When we drink enough water we feel better, our skin looks more radiant and we are deeply nourished.  The simple act of adding some thinly sliced cucumber or even a lemon wedge to my water glass makes me happy.  It somehow feels like I am drinking something special and I usually go for refills.  A bonus: the fruit offers some minerals and vitamins and gives you a small nutritional boost.  For a simple treat, make a pitcher of water with sliced fruit – see my favorites below – and keep it in the refrigerator to quench your thirst all day long.  Or if you are hosting a party, set out a large pitcher along with plenty of glasses so your guests can help themselves.

Here are some favorite ways to dress up my water glass any time of the year.  For best flavor, give the citrus slices a gentle squeeze over the water and drop them in:

Cucumber:  Make the slices interesting by running a zester or vegetable peeler (cut 4 strips) about an inch down the sides before cutting.  (Actually a fruit – source of Potassium, Calcium, Iron, Zinc and Vitamins A, C, E & K)

Grapefruit: not your usual suspect for water – imparts a refreshing citrus flavor. (Source of Calcium, Iron, Potassium, Magnesium and Vitamins A, B6, C & E)

Orange & Lemon: Bright, citrus flavors – not to mention a beautiful combination of colors.   (Oranges – source of Calcium, Iron, Magnesium, Potassium, Zinc and Vitamins A, B6 & C)

Lemon & Mint: a classic, refreshing combination – make the day of, if left overnight the lemons can become overpowering and tangy.  (Lemons – source of Potassium and Vitamins B6, C & E)

All nutritional information from USDA website – national nutrient database for standard reference

How do you make your water routine more interesting?

Eat well and share the love!


Trevi Fountain – Rome, Italy: A close up of the water surface, with coins at the bottom.

8 responses to “Treat Yourself: Drink Lots of Water

  1. You forgot Basil. You shared the Poco Casa drink “Lime-aid and crushed Basil” with me years ago and I still make it from our Basil garden all year. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. What a great idea for winter! I forget to drink water when it’s cold and it will taste great with the added flavors. Thanks

  3. thanks now i can use the fruit from the citrus tree, drink a lot of water in summer time, mucho calor in yuma

  4. Cheryl Hogate Johns

    This post is so well timed. I know I don’t drink enough water in the winter because I don’t have the blistering heat as a reminder. I have cucumber left over from my Greek salad so into my water it went! I’m glad you suggested grapefruit as well, because we have a bunch from a friends tree and I had no idea what to do with it. I’m making up a pitcher right now.

Leave a Reply

