A Belated Mother’s Day Celebration & Memorial Day Dessert

The last few weeks have been a whirlwind for me with a birthday visit for my sister, a Mother’s Day visit for my Mom, and the joyous addition of a four-legged boy dog named Murphy.  My Mom just left yesterday so it is life back to normal, with some good memories to buoy me.  Mom and I love to cook together and she brought some favorite recipes along, including Meringues Chantilly (from one of my favorites: Barefoot in Paris, 2004).  I am a huge chocolate fan but this new delight is definitely being added to my book of recipes.  I have always wanted to try making meringue but never got around to it, until now.  With Memorial Day around the corner, I also thought this was the perfect nod to the Holiday with red, white and blue flavors of celebration on the plate.  The meringue rounds are light and delicate and get filled with Cointreau flavored whipped cream and then smothered with a raspberry and blueberry filling.  Not only is the presentation beautiful, the sweet and tart flavors are tantalizing combinations.

Mom whipped the egg whites (if you a have a stand mixer this is the time to use it), folded in the remaining sugar, and piped the meringue into pre-marked circles on the parchment paper.

The meringue rounds are baked for 2 hours in a 200 degree oven and then they sit in the oven with the heat off for another 2 or 3 hours to finish drying.  Our circles weren’t perfectly shaped but that’s okay, they still tasted great!  A piping bag with a fluted tip is a must for this project.

Fresh raspberries, blueberries (we used frozen), orange zest, water, sugar and framboise (raspberry brandy) make up the vibrant sauce.   It all cooks down into a delicious sauce that makes these little meringues sing with flavor.  While the recipe is easy, make sure you allow several hours to make and bake the Meringues Chantilly dessert. We made the whole recipe but it is easily cut in half for two people plus leftovers.  For the full recipe from Food Network, click here.

Looking for more Memorial Day food ideas?  Here are some links to my past recipes:

Buttermilk & Sage Brined Barbecued Chicken

Grilled Corn with Honey Jalapeno Butter

Strawberry Mint Granita with Vanilla Bean Whipped Cream

Now for the scoop on the boy dog named Murphy……our good friend Christy recently sold her property and couldn’t take the Murph on her new adventure, so we are now his proud new parents!  It’s been five years since we lost our “girls” (both within one of week of each other – it was a heart wrenching loss) and it is wonderful to have new doggie energy around the house.  Murphy is a mellow soft coated Wheaten Terrier who is full of love and spunk.  He is a sweetheart and has made an indelible impression on our hearts.  Mom, David and I went to see a movie last week and I had to chuckle to myself because the smell of Murphy wafted through my memory and it was then I knew he was imprinted on my soul.

Have a fantastic Memorial Day celebration.  I hope it’s filled with lots of love, good food and friends – both human and of the furry kind!
Eat well and share the love!

5 responses to “A Belated Mother’s Day Celebration & Memorial Day Dessert

  1. Great post!!!!!!!!!

  2. I am so happy for Murphy . He looks happy as can be!!
    I miss you . This recipe looks fantastic! I will be making this for my Mom .

  3. Holly Bergman

    Wow! Wow! or should it be Bow- wow! Lovely set up of photos Melissa! We will make this recipe during my parent’s visit in June. Sounds sooooo yuumy. Glad to see Murphy is a happy pup and I can tell you are happy too. Cole is getting psyched to meet “The Murph.”

  4. Great post! Can’t wait to meet the “Murph”!

  5. Melissa, I’ve had Mom’s chocolate meringue’s and they were yum, but these look Fabulous! I’m so glad you included Murphy in the post. Please give him hugs and kisses from his Auntie Cheryl…

Leave a Reply

